You Matter Too

you matter too

When I was much (MUCH) younger I used a yellow hair brush as a microphone and sang to my reflection in the mirror hanging on my bedroom wall. I won’t tell you my favorite group at the time only to spare more giggles, but I will admit it was a popular 80’s band.  I would sing those songs to myself and have a great time, glancing every so often at my door to make sure my brother wasn’t trying to take a peek to gather ammunition for a later date.

Ahem. Moving right along past that embarrassing image to a lesson God has been teaching me recently: sometimes we need to look into the mirror.  I’m not talking about serenading ourselves or admiring how cool we look when we lip sync our favorite tunes with all the facial expressions we can muster to give a great performance. And I’m not referring to spending hours working on fussy hair or applying layers of makeup.

Sometimes we need to look in the mirror simply to remind ourselves that we matter too.

This isn’t putting ourselves in the #1 slot of our priority list (not hardly), it’s simply making sure we make it on the list. It’s acknowledging we have physical bodies that need attention. (Note to self: Stop eating all those chocolate eggs and have a decent lunch…no, that cold piece of pizza doesn’t count.) We have emotions that are like fragile bottles full of different colors of sand; delicate and in balance until too much shaking (not enough sleep, not eating right) can mix them all up, even bring them crashing and spilling on the floor. When that happens, we also come crashing down in a heap on the floor in tears, wondering why we feel all out of sorts. And we each have a spirit that needs rejuvenated by sitting at the feet of Christ like Mary (Martha’s sister) did, ignoring a pressing to-do list. Time with our Lord is like fresh air when the world is trying to suffocate us.

I’m sure you’ve heard about the oxygen masks on airplanes, that you’re instructed to slip on your own mask before assisting others.

If you’re running around all stressed out and doing your best to help everyone you know strap on their “oxygen masks” without making sure yours is on, well, how long can you operate on that stale air, those leftover fumes burning in your lungs before you collapse?

So take a moment and look into that mirror. Take a deep breath and a good, hard look at yourself. Perhaps you’ll notice the dark flesh under your eyes and those smile lines just sitting there on your face, unused. Maybe you’ve got a few hives on your cheeks from eating too much dairy-infused chocolate (or maybe that’s just me!). Or perhaps you’ll notice a deep well of sadness in your eyes, one you’ve been pretty good at hiding from nearly everyone around you.

But you’re not hiding any of it from God. You can’t hide it from Him. And He doesn’t like seeing you run-down, worn-out, and exhausted.  He sees how you’re treating yourself, and He never intended for you to be at the bottom of some list.  He knows you have people counting on you, those you care for.  He wants to help you take care of them.

You may feel alone like the weight is all yours to carry and no one understands what you must do on a daily basis just to get by. Perhaps there are some days you feel like you’re sinking in mud up to your eyeballs, totally stuck, helpless. And you can barely breathe.

My friend, God knows, and He will help you in ways you can’t even imagine. Call out to Him and ask. He knows you don’t like to ask for help.  He knows why, too.  But if you will just trust Him, let Him lift some of that weight off of your shoulders, let Him check off some of those tasks on your list, you’ll be able to breathe a lot easier.  (Note to self and YOU: Don’t turn away God’s help because it isn’t what you expected.)

No, things won’t be perfect on this side of eternity. But you will be able to smile again and be a little more tender with those God placed in your life to love. Who knows, you may even be able to breathe so much easier that you’ll have enough oxygen left over to dance in the living room when no one is looking.  No lip syncing, hairbrush, or mirror required. Just your loving Father who knows how badly you need to understand that you, His precious and one-of-a-kind child, matter too.

Especially to Him.

“Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies? And not one of them is forgotten before God. Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows.” (Luke 12:6-7 ESV.)

“Dear friend, I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (3 John 1:2 NIV.)

“Jesus replied, ‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. A second is equally important: Love your neighbor as yourself.’” (Matthew 22:37-39 NLT.) [Emphasis my own.]

“The apostles then rendezvoused with Jesus and reported on all that they had done and taught. Jesus said, ‘Come off by yourselves; let’s take a break and get a little rest.’ For there was constant coming and going. They didn’t even have time to eat.” (Mark 6:30-45 MSG.)

“Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20 NLT.)

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “You Matter Too

  1. Dear Joey – thank you for this reflective sharing – so timely!! I was recently at a weekend women’s retreat so aptly titled “Beloved” – we are His “beloved” and we deserve to “be loved” by Him – during one of the worship sessions, I had a vision – the vision was that of an oval-shaped mirror and I was facing it with my head bowed down – I was afraid to look at the reflection in the mirror – for more years than I care to remember, I have loved and met the needs of others whether in a professional capacity as a nurse or in a personal capacity as a mother, wife, friend, aunt, and grandmother – never once factoring myself into the picture – thank you, thank you, thank you, did I mention thank you for reminding me that I matter too!! Much love from your crazy colorful sock wearing sister in Christ xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Debra, bless your beautiful heart! You’re so very welcome and all the glory to God!! Wow, the vision you had…did I say wow already? I believe that’s exactly spot on with what God is teaching me. We’re so busy taking care of others (not a bad thing at all) BUT we neglect ourselves and wind up worn-out and sometimes even bitter. That’s what God doesn’t want for us. You lift your chin, my beautiful, crazy colorful sock wearing Sister, and gaze into that mirror. You really DO matter. You keep doing what God is leading you to do, AND remember to take care of His daughter too (that’s YOU! 😉 ) Love and blessings to you always…and a big ol’ hug I’m asking God to give you today!

      Like

    1. And I love people too, Keith. I’m sure you know that I’m not an atheist, so you probably won’t be surprised when I tell you I just prayed for you. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you’ll visit again. 😉

      Like

  2. My favorite part:
    “This isn’t putting ourselves in the #1 slot of our priority list (not hardly), it’s simply making sure we make it on the list”… a perfect balance to the “me time” battle going on in the Christian community. Love this 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It really is a battle, isn’t it? Balance. We don’t want to seem (or BE!) selfish, and yet we need to take care of ourselves too. Yes, we definitely need to be on the list, with God always at #1. 🙂 Blessings to you!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I struggle with it too, Krystal. (I think a lot of us do.) But you’re right…we matter because God says we do. Just remember that!! You DO matter to the King of Kings! You are precious in His sight! Thanks for reading and God bless you abundantly. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment