Anxiety

car-warped

I’m a nervous wreck driving on the expressway. I’m just being honest.  There are a lot of people trying to drive at supersonic speed while under the influence of anger.  Combine that with texting while driving and cars swerving all over the place and I’m on the verge of a panic attack.  But the good news is God knows all about it and wants to help.

Can you relate?  Is there something that twists your stomach like a balloon in the hands of a clown at the circus?  Does it bring a sense of dread, terror, or absolute panic?  Well, my friend, God knows all about that too.

So what do you do about it? Maybe you just push through it and collapse after it’s over, or you just avoid it all together.  I recently met a woman who avoids driving on the expressway and will take only the back roads to get where she needs to go.  I don’t blame her.

What do I do about my expressway terrors? I ask God to help me drive.  It may sound ridiculous but I’m very serious.  And His help comes so fast even those IndyCar drivers can’t get ahead of Him.  Like yesterday on my trip to an unfamiliar part of town…

At the beginning of it all, two words:   Road construction.  I immediately called out to God.  I couldn’t tell if the ramp I needed was open, but the truck in front of me literally just stopped which gave me time to see it was open. Thank you, Lord! Merging was completely smooth during rush hour. YES!!  I was first at a red light which allowed me to peer down the street and see the building I was looking for. It’s like He stopped all the hurrying around me! As soon as I pulled into the parking lot, which was packed, another car started to back out directly in front of me.  I see it, God. Thank you!  And later when I returned to the car and had finished devouring a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with the heat cranked on my cold feet, I realized when I started to back up that God was giving this very same parking spot to a woman I’d noticed before when she first pulled in; she must have circled around for a spot.  Maybe she prayed too.

The important thing to see through all of this: God really does care!  He doesn’t want you to have ulcers and panic attacks.  He loves you more than you can even understand, and He wants you to talk to Him about things that upset or terrify you.  And seriously, it’s amazing when you do.  All of a sudden, what was once your worst nightmare becomes a moment to be in the very presence of God, a moment to watch Him work right before your eyes as He comes to your rescue.

 “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7 NIV.)

 

Leave a Reply

