Change

beach-dawn-dusk-ocean-189349

I’ve been going through a season of change for the past few months. Ever been there?

It all started with my dear friend that had been greeting me every morning for years with a sputter and my favorite hot beverage. Yes, our coffeepot began to change when it stopped sputtering and started spewing water and soaking the countertop. After a few weeks, the time had come to let it go and get a new one (and learn how to operate the thing!).

My laptop and cell phone were next when they started to move like slugs wearing bifocals. Not good. Not good at all. I had to say goodbye to those slow-moving friends and welcome two Jack Russell Terrier fellows into my life. They’re so fast they leave me missing my bifocal-wearing friends because, well, I’m one of them.

My eyesight took a turn down bifocal alley, and I’ve been wandering around aimlessly as I try different pairs of bifocal contacts and reading glasses. What’s really neat is I broke my reading glasses, so I used our daughter’s pink zebra duct tape to fix them. I have to wear this pair over my regular glasses if I’m not wearing my contacts.  How neat indeed and so attractive!

There are more changes taking place, but I’ll stop there.

I’m learning through these little changes and the bigger ones that are coming that God is leading me from the familiar shore of Comfort and Predictability. He’s asking me to trust Him and take His hand as He helps me to let go of those pretty seashells I’ve been collecting, those “things” I’ve been putting my trust in and relying on.

And He’s holding both of my hands as He guides me, gently backing into the water so I can see Him and the ocean behind Him. Just like the shepherd leading the way for his sheep, Jesus is leading the way for me into deeper waters, a grand adventure, and a time of more intense trusting in Him.

Sure, those seashells were pretty. But they could never compare to this moment with my loving Savior, His hands in mine, and the thrill swelling in my heart as we move into the water.  Together.

Things are going to change. Big and small. And I may even have to wear two pairs of glasses as I learn how to operate my new cell phone and laptop.

But I have the One in my life Who never changes and is totally trustworthy to lead me in unfamiliar waters, especially when I can’t see the way.

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” (Hebrews 13:8 NIV.)

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.” (Jeremiah 17:7 NIV.)

 

(Photo from pexels.com.)

Leave a comment