Pulling Weeds

pulling weeds

How would you feel if your dentist were distracted by texting and forgot to numb you before beginning the root canal? Or what if the guy you carpool with to work was distracted by the tailgating-driver behind and didn’t see the stop sign or the school bus up ahead?

Distractions can be painful and deadly. They are like weeds growing up all around us that choke the flowers, those things in our lives we’re supposed to be caring for, and they diminish our focus; sometimes to the point where we forget God.

Weeds like to stand big and tall, so we’ll take notice and believe they’re important.  But they’re not.  Not really.  (That text really can wait until you pull the car over.  And the unanswered phone call isn’t going to make your cell phone disintegrate.)

It’s easy to get caught up in all the things you need to get done, to drag your panic attacks along with you as you breathlessly rush out the door to the next thing on your to-do list or to pat yourself on the back because your calendar has no bare spots. But is all that hurrying and busyness a distraction in disguise?

What you believe you need to do may be the very things keeping you from what God wants you to do.  You need to yank that big weed if it’s choking out the new growth God is bringing into your life.

Need an example?

I have a ton of work to do around the house and even more weeds, the literal kind, than I can count; a whole field of them! I feel like they’ve been taunting me and beating up on my sad little tulips and poking fun at my purple phlox.  But then I had an opportunity this week to volunteer at a food pantry.  I could have thought, “I can’t go anywhere.  I’ve got all this work to do, all these weeds to pull,” but instead I turned away from those busy distractions and focused on what I believe God wanted me to.

And let me just tell you, I have never known such a deep blessing in my soul. I went to bed that night thinking, “Today was one of the best days of my life.”  That’s the kind of life God has for us when we fix our eyes on Him.

So what distractions are keeping you from God’s blessing? Look around.  Do you see any “weeds?”  Anything that “seems” important but really in the overall panoramic view of your life doesn’t amount to a pile of dirt?

Give those weeds a good pull, those that are keeping you from God and His purpose for your life, and you’ll be able to see what was quietly waiting underneath all that other stuff is so much better.

“And the seed [the Word of God] that fell in the weeds- well, these are the ones who hear, but then the seed is crowded out and nothing comes of it as they go about their lives worrying about tomorrow, making money, and having fun.” (Luke 8:14 The Message.)

8 thoughts on “Pulling Weeds

    1. Ooh I like that. I used to be like Martha a few years ago around Thanksgiving until God told me, “Joey, Joey…” I really started to see what was important…spending time with my family. Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Misty! God bless you.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great story as always.Its strange sometimes we learned and know but we forget and a Word like this is an awesome reminder of the times we did follow God and what Joy it was to know, we chose the God thing and we could feel Him smiling down on us. But also r reminded the times we chose to do a good thing , like stay home to pull weeds or clean but yet it will wait and we miss the open door God has for us to bless someone or be blessed ourselves. Gods choice is Always The Best, The Timing God has is BEST yet we chose the good thing or even better and we settle for that and miss out on what God wanted us to see and the impact. God still loves us and we will still make Heaven. There r things like keeping your house in order or grass cut or weeds need pulled and it’s ok to do it but not when God has something for us which Is Always The Best. Amen. God Bless u and your family, Joey. Love u.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting, Mary! And I agree…the housework definitely needs done (I’m hoping to get to those pesky, real weeds today!) but it’s all about choosing God’s best for the day. We have to be ready when He calls us to leave the house a wreck and go. But He always provides the time to take care of the things He’s given us too. He’s so amazing! God bless you and Roy too! Love you.

      Like

  2. Joey this really spoke directly to me. Pastor Damon spoke about focus Sunday and I knew God was speaking to me and today is the first opportunity I had to read your blog and “wham” two day in a row He spoke to me and I think he has my attention. It’s hard for me to keep focused when I have a million things in the works, which sounds odd for a 76 year old retired lady to say, but I’m going to be working on myself with God’s help. Thanks for the great read as always. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Margie, I completely understand. I felt the same way on Sunday, about distractions. I even prayed for God to help me…it’s like I couldn’t focus at all. Then Pastor prayed that prayer against distractions and for us to focus and to go along with what you wrote, “Wham!” My focus came back and I was praising God! It is hard when you’ve got so much going on…I’ve heard a lot of people say they’re much busier after they retire, so I don’t think you’re alone in that. I will be praying for you that you can get rid of all distractions (those pesky weeds 🙂 ) and focus on God and what He has for you. You have such a beautiful heart and I don’t doubt for a second that God wants to use you…it’s all a matter of asking God to help you (which you did), and I know He’s got awesome plans for you! I love you too. And I’m praying for you my friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

