Don’t Lose Your Fizz

 

fizzle

Have you ever tried one of those bubbly vitamin drinks? You stir the powder into a glass of water and if you wait long enough, the fizz will die down and you can drink it. That’s fine for a drink, to let the bubbles dissipate so they don’t tickle your nose, but what about the fizz in your life?  What do I mean?

Let’s say you’ve had a dream your whole life, possibly (and hopefully) a God-inspired dream, and you feel like you’ve hit your head against a brick wall time and time again trying to make it happen. You’re no closer to your dream coming true today than you were two, five, maybe even ten years ago. You’re tired and bordering on giving up and trashing the whole idea.

You’ve lost your fizz, my friend. That spark. That bubbling-out-of-you joy that the world needs. Please don’t give up. Get it back.

How do you do that when it’s flat or so stale it’s worse than the bag of chips you forgot to close last week that’s hiding out in the back of the cupboard?

You go back. That’s right. Go back to the last thing God said to you about this dream, about this task of yours.

What I’ve found, if I may share here, is that God will not tell me the next step until I finish the last one. I believe He told me in December to, “Finish what you’ve started.” What does that mean for me? Gulp. Finish the novel I’ve been working on for over a year. Do it. Get it done. Sit down and write. Yes, do the hard work. Quit worrying about the outcome. Finish it.

And do you know what I’ve found? When I started to do the work, hard as it is, the fizz came back. I started to share my love for writing with our little girl who is now writing her own story! (Proud Momma alert!!) And I’m finding there is more joy in the second draft than I would have thought: imagine you’ve got the structure of your house built and now you get to clean and decorate it!

So if you’ve lost your fizz, go back to God. He knows all about the fragile state of your bubbles and how easily they can pop. And He also knows just what you need to get them back, even to overflowing, bringing even more joy than before.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13 NIV.)

3 thoughts on “Don’t Lose Your Fizz

Leave a Reply

