Stuck

stuck

I remember flying a kite in the back yard with our daughter when she was about four. She was just a little peanut, a sweet little thing with chubby cheeks and wavy long hair.  And she screamed and giggled as we ran together to get that kite airborne.  But we got too close to a tree, and it burrowed its way right into the top of it.

It reminds me of fishing with my Grandpa, when I’d get too close to a tree and cast out, wrapping my hook and bobber right around a branch.

Stuck.

Do you feel that way?  And the more you work to get unstuck, the more you work to free yourself, the more tangled you become?

You know, if I tried to pull and tug on my fishing line, I usually made it much worse.  But when I called out to my Grandpa, he would make his way down to the edge of the water and untangle the line or cut it.  Either way, I could keep fishing.

And when our little girl’s kite got stuck in the top of the tree and I pulled and pulled, probably making it worse, do you know what she did?  She calmly walked a few steps to her swing set and knelt to the ground.  She bowed her head, clasped her hands, and asked God to help get her kite out of the tree.

And you know what?  He did.  The wind picked up and with the slightest tug, that kite came right down.

I never forgot that.

When we’re stuck, all we really have to do is ask our Heavenly Father for help.

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” (Matthew 7:7-8 NIV.)

8 thoughts on “Stuck

  1. Reminds me that All I have to do is ask. Hmmmm. Why we sometimes try on our own and make it worse.
    Some of us r slow learners. So glad The Lord has Patience.
    Love u Joey. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading, Mary! And I’m also thankful God has patience…I’m in the slow-learner category too, but I keep pressing forward with His hand in mine. We’ll just keep letting Him lead and listen to His lessons as He teaches. Love you too!

      Like

  2. What a neat story! Love that. I love seeing my kids have such honest faith in what Jesus can do and then he does it for them. I have so much to learn from my own kids in just trusting him. Great post Joey!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

