Remember

remember-3

I haven’t filled the bird feeders or given any corn to the deer in a long time and promised myself once November arrived I’d start doing it again. So I threw on my old coat yesterday morning and loaded up the cup to fill both feeders, tapping it to make sure the birdseed slides out.  That tapping is the same, hollow sound that’s been echoing across our property for years, one that announces “It’s breakfast time” to all the critters.  I poured some fresh water into the birdbath and since I don’t have any corn yet, I dumped a little birdseed into the dish for the deer.  And that’s when I saw her standing in the front yard, watching and waiting:  a deer that knew the routine.  She remembered the tapping sound of my cup, the mound of corn or birdseed she’d find in the dish, and the gravely sound as I dumped it in.  I’m pretty sure she even remembered the crazy woman who waves at her because she stood and watched me as I did it again.  But most importantly, she remembered the provision.

Do you remember God’s provision? Do you remember all the times He provided a way out when you made a bad decision?  Do you remember when He provided a break when you were so desperate for one?  Do you remember how He sent someone, even a stranger who smiled, when you were feeling like no one cared about you?

Can you look back and see all He has done, all He has brought you through? Or have you forgotten?  Are you looking down at your feet right now wondering how in the world you got here and why did God abandon you?

Take a lesson from the deer and remember.  Remember where your provision comes from and all God has done for you.  If you struggle remembering, ask Him to bring it back to your memory, to sharpen your focus so you can take a good look at it and understand all good things really do come from Him.  Don’t get stuck looking down.  Take a moment to remember and look back to see God’s mighty hand rescuing, providing, protecting, and guiding you.  And trust that He will provide again.

“I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago. I will meditate on all your works and consider all your mighty deeds.  Your ways, O God, are holy.  What god is so great as our God?  You are the God who performs miracles; you display your power among the peoples.”  (Psalm 77:11-14 NIV.)

 

2 thoughts on “Remember

    1. Thanks Melissa! I know we really enjoy watching them…and I love when I wave and they look down and keep eating like, “Yeah, yeah. We know. We know.” 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

